Supplier Ratings 08/01/09

At long last! After some editing, choosing the right words, I’m finally done with my supplier ratings. It wasn’t easy but it wasn’t hard either. The wedding went smoothly; better than I ever expected with just one glitch. I didn’t get much sleep, but my eyes kept wandering over the gown that was neatly arranged in my room. I was so sleepy and tired that morning. Anyway, on with my supplier ratings!

♥♥♥♥♥- Outstanding!!!

♥♥♥♥ – Excellent!

♥♥♥ I’m satisfied, but needs improvement

XXX- Crucify them!

TSG- XXX

I made this the first entry because I need to warn my fellow brides-to-be about this vendor. Maybe I’m just overreacting but it was my wedding and I deserve to get my money’s worth. Although I constantly updated Mr. Israel Gocheco about the song lists, he kept sending me emails saying that he never got the list.  Of course he was apologetic that they were “busy” and I stupidly “understood” them. When I arrived in the Philippines, I called him to make an appointment. First, he pretended that he couldn’t hear me on the phone.  When I got to him again, he assured me that I didn’t need an appointment because the songs I have given to him were easy.

My wedding coordinator became apprehensive when I told her that they were my band of hcoice, but I tried to stay optimistic.  The day of my meeting with Clarice and the head of TSG, Mr. Gocheco aka Ice was thirty minutes late. I hated the tardiness, but I still put up a smile. He assured me everything would be well at the reception. What irked both Clarice and I was that they asked for a food allowance before AND during the receptionWhy? Can’t they eat before they arrive at the venue?

Come my wedding day, I was oblivious from the fact that there was a slight delay during cocktail hour. While my husband and I were up to our room resting and waiting for our cue to go at the reception, she informed me that the band wasn’t set-up yet! Their call time is supposed to be 3pm and it was already 5:30pm!  According to Ice, the drum set did not arrive yet.  It does not get much more unprofessional than this.

I hate it when someone does not honor their words! All the time that I was planning the wedding, I put my trust to them despite the negative reviews – but they failed me. The band looked pathetic on stage. The contract stated that I get 10 band members, but I only saw I think 5 or 6, including Ice who was singing on stage (He’s supposed to be the manager.) They were also contractually obligated to sing till 12am, but they left at 10:45pm when most of the guests had left.  This band was the only disappointing supplier on my wedding day. No way in hell would I recommend this band!!!!

As for the rest of my suppliers, they could not have been any more perfect.

Sanctuario San Antonio– ♥♥♥♥♥

The church was magnificent! I so loved it! The chandeliers were all lit up and it looked so beautiful! When I started walking down the aisle, there was a certain aura and peacefulness about it that was so calming. I loved everything about the church. You don’t need to spruce it up with too many flowers because the church itself is already beautiful.

Side Story: Contrary to the reports, Ms. Susan is really nice. I had no problems with her nor did I experience any hostility. We even chatted and shared some stories. She was really helpful and very patient with us.

While I was inside the bridal car waiting, I had a strong urge to go to Starbucks which is across the street from the church. I can imagine the reaction of Clarice if I wasn’t where I was supposed to be.

Rey Asuncion of Sunny Florist– ♥♥♥♥♥

I did not deal with him personally because I had my mom handle this. But according to my mom, Mang Rey is really nice. He would even give suggestions. A day before the wedding, I got a text from him telling me that he added more roses and add another flower stand in another pew aside from the package I got at no extra charge! The flowers looked so fresh and beautiful. 

Mandarin Oriental Hotel

Hotel Preps -♥♥♥

I got an upgraded room to a Junior Suite. It was smaller than I would have liked, but big enough to have my preps here. I didn’t want to spend extra bucks to get the bigger suite because we got 10 rooms from them.  My hubby’s room was free and upgraded to a business/executive room and I got another free room for my parents. My only complaint was that the rooms were too small. I’ve been to other hotels with bigger standard rooms. I, too, are among those that believe that the rooms have to be renovated with cleaner carpeting in the hallway.  The hotel was moderately priced at 5,000P per night with the discount. I’m sure a big portion of that price is because of the Makati location and the world class dining.  Overall, the staff was so nice. They will attend to you and do their best to accommodate you. Hopefully, when we get back and stay here, the hotel will be renovated (But I’m sure that won’t come without a price increase.)

Reception -♥♥♥♥♥

Sad to say that I didn’t get to eat as much as I had hoped.  My hubby did and he said it was the best reception food he’s ever tasted.  Even the desserts, which looked like run-in-the-mill buffet desserts were world-class.  The guests also thought the food was excellent. They were very happy and full! That’s all I wanted to hear. I LOVED the flower centerpieces and the linens. The flowers were so beautiful that some guests took them home. My AE, Ms. Wella Nadal handled everything perfectly. She’s extremely sweet and nice. I love her! She made sure all our requests were accommodated to best of their ability.

Side Story: We had other hotels and venues to choose from. We considered EDSA Shang, Peninsula, Fernwood, Fernbrook and even Blue Leaf. Food was my number one priority in choosing a venue. I wasn’t that impressed with the menu from EDSA Shang. Peninsula had mixed reviews, and Fernwood and Fernbrook are so far from Manila, that our parents disapproved of it. My hubby wasn’t that impressed with Blue Leaf, and knowing that you have to pay for the venue AND the food didn’t make it worth it. So after all the research, I chose Mandarin. My hubby and I are both happy we chose this hotel. No regrets!



Clarice Avinante of An Event to Remember– ♥♥♥♥♥

I love her!!! She is not only your coordinator but also a friend. She did a great job! John was also impressed by her intelligence, particularly her wits and her way of talking and negotiating with the suppliers. Every time I felt stressed out, she was there to give me soothing words. She and her staff were on time the day of the wedding. She had that very sweet smile that calmed me. She executed the whole ceremony and reception smoothly and effortlessly. She calmed me when I learned about this “pasaway” supplier. I was on the verge of getting the knife from our suite and stabbing this supplier and Clarice was there to calm me. If it weren’t for her, I guess I would have already went berserk!  I never looked for any other coordinator but her. I met her when my cousin got married too in the Philippines last 07 and I knew that she was THE ONE.

http://www.eventsbyclarice.com/

Veluz Reyes– ♥♥♥♥♥

Another great supplier out there! She’s extremely nice and sweet! I never had a problem reaching her. I just left it up to her to make me a dress that would reflect my personality and she did!!! I LOVED my gown!!!!! John loved my gown! Everyone loved my gown!!! I got two sketches and I asked Ms. Veluz if it was possible to combine both sketches. She happily told me that the third sketch is the best and she was right! I didn’t mind going to Manila despite the traffic just for my fittings. She’s worth it! She was there at the church making sure I was okay and made sure the gown was in its proper place.

Side story: I thought of just buying my gown off the rack, but every time I looked, nothing really grabbed my attention. Sure, I saw some dresses that I thought would be the one but for some reason, I felt like something was still missing. I guess that as the bride, it’s like looking for the right man in your life, so  I did not want to settle. I knew of Veluz before and I was really impressed with her creations. I knew she was going to be expensive, but I still inquired. I knew from the moment we started sending emails and when I saw the sketches, that she was THE ONE for me. And she was worth every penny. I was a very happy, ecstatic bride on this day.

http://veluzreyes.blogspot.com

Madge Lejano and Felicity–♥♥♥♥♥

I love them! They were one of the early suppliers who came. I was soooo happy with the outcome of the make-up and the hair. Felicity is sooo funny!!!! They were there from the preps until the reception. They worked professionally and at the same time they were nice. I highly recommend them!

http://madgician.multiply.com/


 

Jason Magbanua– ♥♥♥♥♥

I’m an OC bride. So when I was doing my research, I looked at four possible videographers. Although his rates are staggering, John and I loved his work.  It was not cheesy like the other videos we saw.  You will not be unhappy with the quality of his work. We were both satisfied with the work he presented. We loved our SDE video. All our guests were impressed when we all watched it at the reception. It was a perfect way to end the day.  I was great to hear comments like “Wow, that happened just a few minutes ago” and “Wow, what a perfect wedding day!” Hearing those comments made my day really special. My only regret is that we didn’t get to chat with him a little bit longer. I can’t wait to get the edited videos!

http://jasonmagbanua.com

http://jasonmagbanua.com/blog/2009/08/30/sharon-and-john-natural-glow/

Oly Ruiz of Metrophoto– ♥♥♥♥♥

We did the research , as we did with Jason. I loved Oly’s work. It’s really eye-catching and different. There was something about his works that grabbed my attention. He’s a steal with his current rates! I mean,his works were awesome and I was expecting that he was going to be as expensive as Dino Lara,Mimi & Karl or Mango Red but he was not. He’s fun to work with. He’s like a young boy behind those high tech cameras, having fun, sweet and sincere. I loved the outcome of the pictures he took. I also loved the boudoir session that John and I did. Doing the boudoir was a last minute decision for us. We couldn’t think of any place that we could have our pre-nup pictures, so I suggested the boudoir session because of practical reasons: no need to go outside worrying about the weather and no need for new clothes (Just new underware!) All we needed was a room and voila! I was extremely comfortable wearing only something my husband is allowed to see I wearing in front of Oly. Of course, my hubby was really shy. If given another chance to marry John again, I’d definitely have Oly do the job!

http://mymetrophoto.com

http://mymetrophoto.com/2009/10/santuario-de-san-antonio-and-mandarin-hotel-wedding-john-and-sharon.html

Boudoir Session: you can check out metrophoto’s website under boudoir session.

Yumi’s Piece of Cake-♥♥♥♥♥

Just like the name, it’s YUMMY!!! Yumi was really kind enough to bring extra complementary cupcakes for tasting besides the usual 6 cupcakes she usually brings. They were yummy, moist and oh so great! The guests were raving about it and asked where I got them. I loved our cupcake tower with its fresh flowers. Our cutting cake, which was carrot cake was so good! Yumi and I had a very easy transaction and we never had a problem agreeing to what designs, flowers and colors to choose. I plan to order some cupcakes when I get back to the Philippines. J

http://www.flickr.com/photos/yummypieceofcake/

92 AD Singers–♥♥♥♥♥

One of the best suppliers ever!!!! They’re a bit pricey compared to the other choirs but they’re worth it!!!! They were not good…they were EXCELLENT!!!! They dressed professionally which is a big plus and their voice are pure heaven!!!! All of our guests were very impressed!  My husband and I were so impressed during the ceremony that we decided to have them sing at the reception with an extra cost, of course. It was well worth it. They entertained our guests so well that some of the guests were sad after they finished their first set. I just love, love, love them!!!!

http://www.92adsingers.com/

String Minstrels– ♥♥♥♥♥

We weren’t really planning to get strings, but there were songs on my list that are best played with the accompaniment. Our choice was to get strings or 92 would have to bring a tape. John said a recording would cheapen the whole ceremony, so we decided to get strings. They were great and compatible with the choir. Although there was one minor misunderstanding, it was quickly resolved  Tina Pasamba is very professional and made sure they delivered.

http://www.stringminstrels.com/

Sensitivity Lights and Sounds-♥♥♥♥♥

MeAnne was really nice. I love her!!! They did a great job decorating the ballroom and making sure the sound system was awesome and clear. Everyone was really impressed with the drapes and the lighting. I didn’t have any problem with them. This supplier is highly recommended!!!

http://mrsensitivity.multiply.com

Print Divas -♥♥♥♥♥

It took me a long time to finding the right supplier for invitations. I wanted something that was different, reflected our personality and affordable. From the moment I saw their samples from their website, I fell in love! Their work is modern, fun, stylish and affordable. Their replies to my email was prompt. She gave suggestions and I really have no problem dealing with them.

http://printdivas.multiply.com

Angel of Hearts -♥♥♥♥♥

I met with Lorry about a week or two before the wedding. She was very professional and gave suggestions which I easily accepted. I have no regrets. The flowers came on time and they were absolutely stunning! My guests would never have thought I bought these amazing pieces at a discount from dangwah.


Mallory Cosio, MC– -♥♥♥♥♥

I love her!!!! She was eloquent, fun and she really kept the party going!!! There has never been a dull moment at the reception.

I did my own DIY wine labels and wedding table number memorabilias.Unfortunately I don’t know who my wine supplier and LCD supplier was because it was provided by Clarice. I’m supposed to get Dennis Sy for my LCD but she informed me that he already migrated to the States. SO I just leave it up to Clarice to find me one.

I’m really missing the whole wedding planning and the wedding itself. It’s true what they say,” After all the hype and stress of the wedding,what happens after that?”

So for all of you b2bs and g2bs,my advice is to keep it cool,

Explore posts in the same categories: Blog!Blog!

Leave a comment